A TIME TO REMEMBER BEFORE INDEPENDENCE

Today, 13th September 2020 marks the second year after a tragic car accident in 2018 I went through and nearly lost my life but through God’s grace that spared my life.

On this day, two years ago, I was traveling back to Lae from Madang when I went into the accident at around 11:30am at Sausi along the Lae-Madang highway.

Through Vinansius Wavite that communicated and got me airlifted around 5pm in the afternoon while I was unconscious and lying there at Walium Health Centre.

I take this time to thank Manalos Aviation who flew over after several hours of constant communication, negotiation and arrangement with my former employer, EMTV to my rescue and was medevac back to Lae and admitted at Lae International Hospital.

Went through CT Scan and X-Ray scans and has confirmed fructured left collarbone, fructured left ribs bones which punched a hole in my left lung so went through Under-seal in which I went through surgery and a hole was made under my left armpit and hose was inserted to drain air and blood from my punctured lung.

The next day, mom and I were airlifted again by Manolos Aviation to Port Moresby and admitted straight to the Intensive Care Unit(ICU) at the Pacific International Hospital. For four days, I was in the ICU and my condition was stable so the under-seal hose was removed from my body and I was transferred to the general ward for further treatment and examination.

Stayed there for another 5 days before I was discharged at the hospital.

I would like to thank my former employer, EMTV for stepping in and taking care of the expenses involved in my survival. Without such immediate support from you, I wouldn’t be writing this piece. I would also thank my very immediate supervisor, Scott Waide for making it possible for everything that EMTV has to cover for my rescue and medical expenses.

Big word of appreciation also to my colleagues and best friends who came to pay me visits and brought me fruits and gifts.

May God bless you all have a peaceful Independence celebrations.

Leave a comment